//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Happiness

I started thinking about happiness last week after I saw the following quote posted by a friend on Facebook:

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”
~ John Lennon

All I could say about that was WOW!  I decided after reading that quote that whenever someone asks me what I do, I’m going to reply:  “I try do whatever makes me happy at any given moment.  If that makes those around me happy too, then that is a bonus.”  I could now transition to talking about networking and related events at this point, but I’ll save that for a future post!  I do not want to digress…

A couple days later, I came across this Ted Talk on happiness: Nic Marks: The Happy Planet Index .  I read about Bhutan’s Gross National Happiness Index initiative quite a few years ago.  I’ve seen the studies about the happiest countries on Earth.  I find all this quite fascinating and wonder why other countries don’t pursue this type of initiative.  It just seems to make sense to me.  Why wouldn’t you want a happy and healthy society?  Why wouldn’t that be more important than Gross Domestic Product?

It seems like happiness was becoming a theme for me last week.  Apparently, themes, things, ideas, people come into your life at a certain time for a reason.  Why did the theme of happiness keep coming up for me last week?

I certainly have a lot of things to be happy about.  The basics in my life are all covered.  I’m pursuing a yoga teacher training and hope to bring my love of restorative and gentle yoga to others.  I have some great relationships.  I get to watch World Cup Soccer in HD.  What more could a girl want?

There are some things that do nag and bring me down.  Miscommunication with a friend this week.  The fact that money is owed to me by an organization that I used to work for and I can’t seem to either let it go or figure out a way to paid.  My husband’s colleague died in a freak accident a week ago.

Today I saw this quote from Buddhism: “Why get upset if you can do something about something? And if you can’t do anything about it, then why get upset?”  and it got me thinking once again about happiness and the choice I make to either be happy or not.  Can I do something about the fact that I had a miscommunication with my friend?  Quite possibly.  Can I figure out a way to get paid?  Maybe.  Can I do anything about the fact that my husband’s colleague died?  Absolutely not.  So, does it makes sense to allow any of these things to make me unhappy?  Not really.  So what am I going to do?  I think I’m going to take Bobby McFerrin’s advice: “Don’t worry, be happy!”

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

